.

Dome Replacement Project Gets City Review

The Pleasant Hill Architectural Review Commission reviews plans Thursday to tear down the CineArts Dome and build a new retail building.

The plans for bringing down the dome get an initial review from a Pleasant Hill city commission Thursday.

The Architectural Review Commission reviews a proposal by SyWest Development to demolish the existing CineArts theater building and then build a 73,176-square-foot two-story retail building and renovate the existing 21,788-square-foot, single-story building. A Dick's Sporting Goods is targeted for that end of the Crossroads at Pleasant Hill Shopping Center, Monument Boulevard.

The Architectural Review Commission meets at 5 p.m. Thursday at the Large Community Room at City Hall, 100 Gregory Lane, Pleasant Hill. The agenda is attached to this file.

Many longtime residents object to the idea of puncturing the dome where they enjoyed many art-house films. When Patch ran a December poll about the proposed redevelopment, the results went like this:

  • 25 people said the movie dome should be remodeled.
  • 6 said leave it the way it is.
  • 4 said "yes, we need something new in that location."

There's a Facebook site titled "Save Independent Film and the CineArts Dome in Pleasant Hill."

Cindy Rubin February 07, 2013 at 04:57 PM
Too bad about this. People come from all over the east bay to see movies at the dome. They don't need to come to PH with the plethora of sporting good stores all over the area.
Johannamarie February 07, 2013 at 07:01 PM
We have several fairly new and very large sporting goods stores nearby. We have no other venues for Indy films.
A Gregory Gardener February 08, 2013 at 12:19 AM
I totally agree with the sentiments of the 2 previous commenters, BUT if you really want to slow the momentum of this conversion from unique theater to unnecessary sporting goods store, it is necessary to GO TO tonight's session and see what is left that can be done! It does seem like the public should be able to have a say, but as others have pointed out, "it's private property". Also, the process has started. Among the 1075 people who have signed the www.change.org petition to keep the Dome as a theater (please sign--especially PH residents!), I hope there are some who know how to effectively stop this from happening. Somehow...
Annette February 08, 2013 at 02:23 AM
The only reason I ever visit that Center is because of the theatres. If they take them away, God knows I' won't go there for a sporting goods store. SyWest is all about business, not about the people.
Daniel February 08, 2013 at 07:26 AM
There won't be any reason to visit this shopping center in the future and the restaurants in the center who cater to the movie goers will take a hit.
Phil harrington February 08, 2013 at 01:36 PM
Whatever your views on this are I don't think its appropriate to call the owner of the proposed sporting goods store names! Being vulgar towards those whom we might disagree never advances our views!
Doc February 09, 2013 at 08:44 AM
Of the 30,000+ residents of Pleasant Hill plus the thousands in surrounding communities, there were only five of us that took the time to show up and speak to the Pleasant Hill Commission on Thursday to try to save The Dome. How pathetic is this? At this point, with such meager opposition, it's not if but when The Dome will be demolished. Maybe it's time that Pleasant Hill residents support the few historical sites we have and make sure that we save Roger's Ranch and The Old School House (which has been condemned). We've lost The Dome, the Geary House, the Hook house, the Ellenwood cottage plus others. Pecking away at a keyboard isn't a substitute for attending public hearings and... maybe even writing a check to The Historical Society. Read The History of Pleasant Hill (Arcadia Publishing) to see where what was, what is and imagine what could be. People building a better community to help others is what a city should be. It's sad when the big news in Pleasant Hill is that a Nordstrom's Rack is going to open.
Giorgio Sassine February 11, 2013 at 03:54 AM
Please don't let the Dome be destroyed. Help by signing this petition and passing it on: http://www.change.org/petitions/sywest-development-and-the-pleasant-hill-planning-commission-preserve-the-cin%C3%A9arts-dome-in-pleasant-hill?utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=url_share&utm_campaign=url_share_before_sign
A Gregory Gardener February 12, 2013 at 09:04 AM
Ooops. Were they even taking public comment at this meeting? City Weekly Update archive says: "Action: No action was taken as this item was a study session. No one from the public spoke on the item."
A Gregory Gardener February 13, 2013 at 01:55 AM
Giorgio, Thank you for the petition that has been signed by almost 1800 people today (some of them from Pleasant Hill). But after the comment of "Doc" above, I'm left to wonder: is there anyone who has any influence in stopping this horrible process that is seeing the public rejection you have uncovered? That is, are we wasting our breath here? It's tragic. Is it too late? :-(
Gator February 17, 2013 at 09:06 PM
To all of you that have decided to keep the dome theater via petition, I have news for you. It's not up to you to decide what goes there! What country do you think you live in? If you feel so strongly about it why don't you get a group of investors, buy the property, and keep it running as a theater? Sheesh!
A Gregory Gardener February 18, 2013 at 09:11 AM
Hmmm. I wish we could... oh, well. SyWest has other big shopping center plans in Sacramento, for example...How's that going? Poor little SyWest. Gator, do you really believe that a community has no say in the types of businesses that populate our town? How depressing Maybe its true, but there is something not working about the "free market" system in Pleasant Hill if what we end up with is a Cash for Gold shop on every other corner and a massage parlor or manicure shop in between. (or too many sporting goods stores and NO place to see non-mainstream films, don't you think?) Do we have to be helpless here, Gator?
Gator February 19, 2013 at 12:53 AM
@gregory gardener.... Cash for gold, massage shops, and manicure shops are not necessarily evil, and even if you thought they were, a sporting goods store is not... I live blocks from there and don't think a sporting goods store is the best solution, either ... But if you read these posts, it seems that there are those that would want PH to STOP AN OWNER OF PRIVATE PROPERTY FROM DOING WHAT THEY FELT WOULD MAKE BEST ECONOMIC SENSE FOR THEIR PROPERTY! And that is a travesty! And the folks claiming the dome is some "architectural wonder" ... Gimme a break! I guess it would be ok to make a Dicks Sporting Goods if it was under the dome? I didn't think so!
Gator February 19, 2013 at 01:04 AM
And to the poster that wrote ... "It's all about making money" as if that is evil! Do you think the folks running the indie theater are doing it for the love of showing foreign movies? And if they make a buck so be it? Or is it the other way around and they hope that enough people will like foreign and indie films and that is enough to make them money? How sad are you people?
A Gregory Gardener February 19, 2013 at 04:04 AM
I'm very sad, Gator....
Ryan April 22, 2013 at 06:23 PM
I can't wait for Dick's to open. Been looking for a place with a quality selection of fishing gear. I never go to Pleasant Hill, so this will at least bring me in to the area.
A Gregory Gardener April 22, 2013 at 07:05 PM
Ryan, Can't you find good fishing gear in your area? Why not try to get Dick's to open a store there?! Maybe they would like a 73,000 sq.foot megastore over there. Meanwhile, is it true that no store but Dick's can supply your fishing gear needs? Really?
Giorgio Sassine April 22, 2013 at 07:11 PM
@Ryan, if you want to shop at Dick's for all your fishing gear, go to the one in Walnut Creek. Its off of Ygnacio. If you want to come to Pleasant Hill, come hang out at our local park, our downtown, or our... oh, no wait, the City of Pleasant Hill has decided to tear down an area where old or independent movies could be played and families, couples, and the like could wine and dine and instead decided that a Dick's sporting goods is what people truly want... such a tragedy!
A Gregory Gardener April 22, 2013 at 07:26 PM
nice to hear you voice, Giorgio. :-) I didn't even realize there was a Dick's in WC!
Ryan April 22, 2013 at 09:25 PM
There is no Dick's in WC. They are opening one up in Dublin. Giorgio must be thinking of Sports Basement. As for fishing gear, there really is no quality place with a large selection of fishing gear. I also never said no store but Dick's can supply my fishing gear needs. I currently have to shop online for most stuff. Hey, if you don't want your city getting my taxes on these purchases, then fine. I never would go to that theater, but I will go to the Dick's. I understand you are upset over losing the theater that you patron, but there are others who would be happy to go to Dick's. And anybody who claims to have talked to "thousands" of people who come into the area for that theater, that can't be true. Otherwise the theater would close now would it?
Ryan April 22, 2013 at 09:27 PM
Meant to say "wouldn't have closed now would it?"
A Gregory Gardener April 22, 2013 at 10:25 PM
Thank you for your reply, Ryan. My questions about fishing gear were sincere. I've been at the theater over a couple of weekends I have heard many, many people who overwhelmingly LOVE the theater, whether it's raggedy or not (the owner hasn’t chosen to spruce it up). But perhaps they value film more than fish :-), so I'm glad you put your opinion here, especially without getting nasty. I don't know where you live, or if you've ever been in this now-unique, huge auditorium, or even if you like movies! But in PH, that spot is a reference point to our city. A gateway. A big sporting goods store will be one of between 2-3 dozen existing stores near-by selling sporting goods. Can you see why we may feel another one isn’t needed? I’m sorry about poor fishing selection in other stores--I wasn't aware-- but I don’t think it’s a good enough reason to put this business in this spot. Sales taxes are very important, but this is a bit like selling one's soul for the money (actually, we the public haven’t been informed as to how much we stand to benefit from a new Dick’s. That would be interesting to know). And may I ask you again: would you have any problem putting a 73,000 sq. ft., fifty ft. tall Dick’s store to be the landmark welcoming people to your city, especially when there is a site across town—the former K-Mart—where it could go? The deal was made by our city—was it the right thing to do? Thank you. Yes, I know it's private property.
Christopher April 26, 2013 at 07:36 AM
From the "Save the Pleasant Hill Dome Theatre" Campaign: The attorney we have retained, Mark Wolfe, has sent a letter to the City of Pleasant Hill, stating our view that the April 1, 2013 demolition permit it issued to SyWest was in violation of state and municipal law. He is asking the city to rescind the permit. HOW YOU CAN HELP Donate to the legal fund. We've received over $5000 in your donations, which will go towards funding the lawyer. Please continue to donate and spread the word to others. Use PayPal via www.savethedome.org =or= send check to “Save the PH Dome”, c/o Treasurer 1630 N Main #425 Walnut Creek CA 94596 Write to the City Council to express your objections to this plan 100 Gregory Lane Pleasant Hill, CA 94523 (925) 671-5267 http://www.ci.pleasant-hill.ca.us/forms.aspx?FID=74 Write to Dick's Sporting Goods Corporate and tell them this is not a good location for their store Letters and calls to Dick's corporate are just as effective - if not more so - than Facebook posts and Tweets. 345 Court St Coraopolis, PA 15108 (724) 273-3400 Online contact form: http://69.8.223.148/dsgcontactus/ https://twitter.com/DICKS

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something